Pushing Boundaries

28th October 2016 – 22nd December 2016

This exhibition marks the first time that the Printmakers Council have exhibited in Ireland. The title Pushing Boundaries recognises that 2016 is a significant year for Ireland as the centenary of the Irish Revolution and the beginnings of a new nation. Many events are being held across the country to mark the year and this exhibition might be seen as a small but significant part of the living historical process, taking place between Ireland and the UK. This collection of work by members of the Printmakers Council presents the very best of contemporary printmaking practice. Printmakers Council has no house style, embracing all forms of contemporary and traditional original printmaking. Their growing membership means that exhibitions are selected from an increasingly wider pool of artists keeping exhibitions lively and fresh. The exhibition will include film, installation, sound pieces, artists’ books, pushing the boundaries of what constitutes a ‘print’. The work will pursue a range of concerns from the political and social, the aesthetic and formal, to the self and the personal, creating a dynamic dialogue with other contemporary art practices.

Over fifty artists have been selected for the show: Margaret Ashman, Jacki Baxter, Helen Benson, Alison Bernal, Kit Boyd, Pauline Bradley, Angela Brookes, Emma Buckmaster, Rob Chapman, Dawn Cole, Christina France Crews, Barbara Cropper, Sandra Daniel, Felicity Dunnett, Steve Edwards, Shuxiang Jin Farrall, Kate Fortune Jones, Eric Gaskell, Colin Gillespie, Anne Gournay, Lisa Gribbon, Michael Griffiths, Clare Grossman, Eleanor Havsteen-Franklin, Gloria Holden, John Hutton, Claire Hynds, Liz Kelleher, Michael Kennedy, Frances Kiernan, Sari Majander, Marie-Louise Martin, Amanda McAllister, Julia McNeal, Margo McNulty, Janet Milner, Antoinette Momtahan, Stephen Mumberson, Frances Murray, Geraldine O’Reilly, Bronwen Paterson, Richard Peacock, Sumi Perera, Irene Vee Riley, Andrea Robinson, Sarah Rogers, Hilary Rosen, Ian Scaife, Yoonjung Shim, Ewelina Skowronska, Tim Southall, Francesca Souza, Emma Tabor, Caroline Whitehead, Roy Willingham, Mary Yazhari, Johanna Zhang.

Photos: Mark Stedman